About – Committee

///About – Committee
About – Committee 2019-04-04T04:44:51+00:00

ASD Committee 2019

Auckland Schools’ Debating is run by a committee of volunteers, consisting of experienced members of the debating community and teacher advisors.

Members of the Committee

Chairperson – Zachary Wong (021 1588 801)

Treasurer – Chenchen Huang (027 397 6452)

Premier Advanced Convener – Umbar Sandhu (021 0843 7123)

Premier Junior Convener – Izzy Ray Chaudhuri (021 0825 2258)

Advanced Open Convener – Karan Kalsi (021 087 33982)

Senior Open Convener – Liam Silverwood (022 306 7684)

Junior Open Convener – Celine Goh (0224466288)

Teacher Advisors – Charlotte Forster (Auckland Grammar) & Jason Farley (Diocesan)

Welfare Officers

For 2019 the committee has also appointed 2 committee members to be welfare officers. Our welfare officers are responsible for ensuring the physical and mental wellbeing of all students who participate in Auckland Schools’ Debating. Teachers and students can reach out to them if you are feeling uncomfortable for any reason in our debating competitions or at a tournament. In addition to the Chairperson, they are also a point of contact for any complaints about the behavior and conduct of adjudicators, teachers, coaches and other students. All complaints will be handled sensitively and with confidentiality. Action will only be taken with the consent of the complainant.

Welfare Email – welfare@asd.org.nz (private to the Welfare Officers only)

Welfare Officer (Male) – Chenchen Huang (027 397 6452)

Welfare Officer (Female) – Umbar Sandhu (021 0843 7123)